Sunday, January 25, 2015

Book Spotlight and Excerpt: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading

Kitty Hawk and 
the Curse of the Yukon Gold 
(Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series Book 1)
by Iain Reading

Series: Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency
Paperback: 270 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (December 3, 2012)
Amazon Paperback Link

Kindle Edition
File Size: 2128 KB
Print Length: 326 pages
Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1480024406
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Amazon Kindle Link

About the book:

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations. 

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales, Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty's adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada. As the plot continues to unfold, this spirited story will have readers anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada's Yukon.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves. 

There are currently four books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (book 1), Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway's Ghost (book 2), Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (book 3), and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (book 4). Each book can be read as a standalone. 

Book Excerpt

Amazon Buy Links

Friday, January 23, 2015

Book Spotlight : Fabled Circus by J. Stephen Howard

Fabled Circus
by J. Stephen Howard

File Size: 585 KB
Print Length: 394 pages
Publisher: BookBaby (December 11, 2014)
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Amazon Kindle Link


The world is a circus, and our genes are the clowns.

Fabled Circus, like the characters inhabiting its pages, is a genetic hybrid of fantasy, horror, and science fiction. At the center of the maelstrom is a twelve-year-old named Teddy. In the year 2082, if you have two different-colored eyes, you stand out as something that needs to be fixed. His father, with his right clubfoot twisting body and mentality, has warped his son’s view of himself.

Fleeing the horror scene that was his home, Teddy initially finds refuge in the orphanage, St. Benedict's Home for Boys. But when he believes the police are looking for him, he hitches a ride in the circus trailer parked outside.

His life will never be the same under the Fabled Circus tent where Chiron the centaur and Aello the harpy inspire him to fully realize his identity. Friends like Isaac from the orphanage, whose smart mouth keeps him from ever getting adopted, and Corliss, who ran away from her rich adoptive family to find and be with her real parents at the circus, give Teddy a sense of belonging that he never felt before.

But the sinister underpinnings of Fabled Circus, responsible for genetic mutations like Chiron and Aello, will draw Teddy into its tangled mystery. Once he learns the secret, he'll be fighting more than the ghost of his twisted father.

Chapter 1 Sample

Amazon Buy Link 

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Audible Giveaway: The Boots My Mother Gave Me by Brooklyn James

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to walk through life in someone else's shoes? 

Strong-willed tomboy Harley LeBeau puts you in the boots her mother gave her, as she takes you along her journey of escape from an abusive childhood and the desire to find herself as she comes of age. Made to feel a burden to her father simply by her gender, Harley is determined to prove her worth and independence, leaving the small town she grew up in and the one boy who gave her a soft place to fall, Jeremiah Johnson. Torn between saving herself and abandoning her mother and younger sister, Harley chooses her own life in hopes they will choose theirs, too. 

A mature, candid read for everyone. A must for women. The Boots My Mother Gave Me explores the dynamics of abuse and dysfunction, the courage to overcome, the strength in sisterhood, and the ongoing conflict and unconditional love between mothers and daughters. 

Climb into Charlene the Chevelle for a fast-paced story about a girl who is tough enough to survive and tender enough to learn to trust in love. 

Giveaway HERE
Related Posts with Thumbnails